dcsimg

Library Reference

Dictionaries
English language Dictionaries and Thesaurus
Bartleby http://www.bartleby.com/reference
Merriam-Webster www.m-w.com/netdict.htm
Visual Thesaurus http://www.visualthesaurus.com/ 
Fact Monster (for kids) www.factmonster.com/dictionary.html
Dictionary.com http://dictionary.reference.com/
Thesaurus.com http://thesaurus.reference.com/
The Free Dictionary http://www.thefreedictionary.com/
NetLingo http://www.netlingo.com/acronyms.php

International Language Dictionaries
Word Reference http://www.wordreference.com/
Language Dictionary and Translators http://www.word2word.com/dictionary.html
Online Spanish/English Dictionary http://www.spanishdict.com/
Online French/Spanish Dictionary http://www.frenchlinguistics.co.uk/dictionary/englishfrench/ 
Online Japanese/English Dictionary http://jisho.org/

Medical Dictionaries
MedlinePlus Dictionary http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/mplusdictionary.html
Mondofacto http://www.mondofacto.com/facts/dictionary
Medicine.net http://www.medterms.com/script/main/hp.asp
Free Medical Dictionary http://www.medterms.com/script/main/hp.asp 
MedBio World http://www.medbioworld.com/MedBioWorld/TopicLinks.aspx?type=Reference%20Tools&&category=(All)&&concept=Medicine

Scientific Dictionaries
Scientific Dictionaries http://www.science-books.net/dict.htm
Specialist Online Dictionary http://www.specialist-online-dictionary.com/scientific-dictionary.html
Scientific terms and Jargon http://dictionary.etacude.com/
Scientific Dictionary Index http://lii.org/pub/subtopic/4504
Scientific resources and statistical formulae http://www.xycoon.com/index.htm

Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia.com http://www.encyclopedia.com/
Encyclopedia Index http://www.libraryspot.com/encyclopedias.htm
Encyclopedia Britannica http://www.britannica.com

Acronyms
Acronym Finder http://www.acronymfinder.com/
The Free Dictionary http://acronyms.thefreedictionary.com/
NetLingo http://www.netlingo.com/acronyms.php

Quotations
Quotations Page http://www.quotationspage.com/
Quoteland.com http://www.quoteland.com/

Style Manuals & Writing Guides
Style Manuals for citing references http://www.calstatela.edu/library/styleman.htm
University Writing Guides http://www.library.kent.edu/page/10603
AIP Style Manual http://www.aip.org/pubservs/style/4thed/toc.html
APA Formatting http://www.aip.org/pubservs/style/4thed/toc.html
Journalism Resources http://bailiwick.lib.uiowa.edu/journalism/cite.html

Biographies
Biography.com http://www.biography.com/
Biography Database http://www.howardcollege.edu/library/biog.htm
Omni Biographies http://www.omninternet.com/bio/bio.asp
BiographyCenter http://www.howardcollege.edu/library/biog.htm

Atlases, Maps & Almanacs
Atlas and reference resources http://www.kidinfo.com/references/atlases.html
World Atlas and Map Library http://www.infoplease.com/atlas  
LibrarySpot http://www.libraryspot.com/almanacs.htm
World Almanacs http://www.oclc.org/americalatina/es/support/documentation/firstsearch/databases/dbdetails/details/WorldAlmanac.htm
Open Directory Project http://www.dmoz.org/Reference/Almanacs/
The Old Farmer’s Almanac http://www.almanac.com/

Calculators/Conversion charts/World Clocks/Weather Service
Calculator.com http://www.calculator.com/
Math.com http://www.math.com/students/tools.html
Financial Calculators http://www.ocif.gobierno.pr/fincalcs/index.html
TheWorldClock http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/
World Population http://www.poodwaddle.com/clocks2.htm
World Time Zone www.worldtimezone.com/datetime.htm 
National Weather Service http://www.nws.noaa.gov/
International Weather Service http://weather.noaa.gov/international.html
World Weather Service http://www.worldweather.org/

Government Agencies/Resources
USA.gov Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies http://www.ocif.gobierno.pr/fincalcs/index.html
COA.gov General Public Service Agencies http://www.coa.gov.ph/Links/links-nga.asp
Library of Congress Current Newspaper and periodical Reading Room http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/extgovd.html
FBI http://www.fbi.gov/
CIA https://www.cia.gov/
Department of Homeland Security http://www.dhs.gov/index.shtm
Portal for North America List of Agencies in Mexico, Canada, and the US. http://www.portalfornorthamerica.org/es/links/government-agencies
Internet Library of Law and Court Decisions http://www.internetlibrary.com/
LawGuru.com Internet Law Library http://www.lawguru.com/ilawlib

Statistical Resources
University of Michigan Library Index of Government Documents http://www.lib.umich.edu/government-documents-center/explore/browse/statistics/260/search/
York University Statistical associations and general resources http://www.math.yorku.ca/SCS/StatResource.html
World Criminal Justice Library Network http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~wcjlen/WCJ/mainpages/statres.htm
Statistic Resources Index http://statisticsresources.blogspot.com/
U.S. Census Bureau http://www.census.gov/sdc/www/